Board of Directors

 Our Board of Directors and Advisory Council help make it possible to fulfill our mission to provide daily hot meals for our communities’ vulnerable seniors.

board1The Board of Directors of SOS Meals on Wheels is responsible for providing resources to support meal delivery for homebound seniors in Hayward, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Castro Valley and Oakland.  In this capacity, they raise funds and advise the Executive Director in the administration of all work necessary to purchase, prepare and deliver warm, nutritious meals.

The Board of Directors is headed by President Gerry Mellen and Vice President Mary Anne Hogerheide.  Members at large include Carmen Aydelott, Jack Aydelott, Donna Boyer, Jon Duman, Jim Dunn, James Esmeyer, Charles Kadlecek, Paul Lyon, Shirley Rocha, Sylvia Stadmire and Martha Wheelock. These dedicated volunteers serve three year terms with an option to serve a second term and meet on the second Thursday of each month.

Advisory Council

In 2010, SOS Meals on Wheels established an Advisory Council of influential individuals in the central county area.  These people agree to assist in furthering the mission of our organization by contributing their expertise, experience and connections to benefit the success of Meals on Wheels.  Our Advisory Council includes:

  • Roberta Cooper, Board Member
  • Barbara Halliday, Mayor, City of Hayward
  • Shelia Young: Mayor of San Leandro 1998-2006
  • Mary Louise Zernicke, MS MPH RD CSG